• Charlie

New releases for the 11th September

Coming Friday, 11th September

The Flaming Lips - American Head


American Head takes on a welcome temporal shift that occupies a similar space to that of The Soft Bulletin or Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots and just may be their most beautiful and consistent work to date. American Head finds the Flaming Lips basking in more reflective lyrical places.

Kelly Lee Owens - Inner Song


Kelly Lee Owens' masterful second album Inner Song finds the convention-blurring techno producer and singer / songwriter diving deep into her own psyche—excoriating the struggles she's faced over the last several years and exploring personal pain while embracing the beauty of the natural world.

Delta Spirit - What Is There


The enduring California rock quintet - Matthew Logan Vasquez [vocals], Kelly Winrich [multi-instrumentalist, vocals], Will McLaren [guitar], Jon Jameson [bass], and Brandon Young [drums] - realign on their fifth full-length and first album since 2014, What Is There.

Doves - The Universal Want


In a tumultuous 2020, the re-emergence of Doves with new music has provided a shaft of light in an otherwise brooding sky, finally landing their fifth album, The Universal Want, after an eleven-year artistic break.

The Lathums - All My Life


A momentous month for The Lathums with their first Island Records single AND the vinyl release of debut EP ‘The Memories We Make’.

Rina Sawayama - Sawayama


Sawayama is the debut album from Japanese pop auteur Rina Sawayama - an exploration of identity, family, gender and sexuality, set to a backdrop of future-facing, genre-splicing pop music.

Spoon - Gimme Fiction, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Transference

Originally released from 2005 - 2010 and now newly recut from the original masters, these albums are released as part of the Slay On Cue series, which will see the reissue of the band’s first eight records in original editions.

PJ Harvey - To Bring You My Love reissue, and TBYML Demos

£24 each

Third PJ Harvey studio album To Bring You My Love. Produced by PJ Harvey with Flood and John Parish, and originally released in February 1995, To Bring You My Love features the singles Down By The Water, C’mon Billy and Send His Love To Me. Demos album collects unheard demos of all the album's songs.

The Go! Team - Cookie Scene


The Go! Team return with new single Cookie Scene - a warped Daisy Age jam to melt pavements. A bouncing flute pattern, finger clicks and firing ray guns make the ground for guest rapper IndigoYaj to skip on.

International Teachers Of Pop - Pop Gossip


After their recent collaboration with Sleaford Mods’ Jason Williamson on the riotously fun track I Stole Yer Plimsolls, International Teachers Of Pop release their second album entitled Pop Gossip.  Ahead of the album the band come out firing on all ‘pop not pop’ cylinders with the second single from the album Don’t Diss The Disco, a glorious celebration of old and new school dancefloor togetherness.

Marilyn Manson - We Are Chaos


Marilyn Manson returns with his eleventh studio album We Are Chaos via Loma Vista Recordings. Co-produced by Manson and Grammy Award winner Shooter Jennings [Brandi Carlile, Tanya Tucker], the ten-track opus was written, recorded, and finished before the global pandemic.

Sam Prekop - Comma


Sam Prekop's boundless imagination is guided by his strong sense of melody. For more than 25 years, as a solo artist or as part of The Sea and Cake, Prekop creates a singular sound that is both inventive and warm. New album Comma takes Pekop's electronic music experiments in a surprising new direction.

Help (War Child) 2020 reissue


Twenty-five years ago this month, the cream of the British music industry walked into Abbey Road and studios around the UK and recorded an album for War Child in response to the plight of the thousands of families caught up in the bloody Balkans war.

Crass - Normal Never Was II


Following XL Recordings honcho Richard Russell’s remix of Bomb a few weeks back, the Crass Feeding Of The Five Thousand remix project enters its next stage with a high-energy dancefloor deconstruction of G’s Song by New York DJ, producer and promoter Johnny Dynell.

Logic - No Pressure (CD)

No Pressure is the sixth and final studio album by Logic, produced by No ID. It's a back to basics release with plump rhythms and frank and funny lyrics. Think a mix of Under Pressure, The Incredible True Story and his early mixtapes.

Everything Everything - Re-animator


The band’s approach to ‘re-animator’ was to streamline the creative process by focusing on harmonies and melodies over synths and programming. Inspiration came thick and fast: wonderment at the wider world despite the horror of its politics; existentialism and the prolonged, if fading, youthfulness of being in a touring band; and the ominous threat of climate change.

Elizabeth Cook - Aftermath


Elizabeth Cook is a Nashville-based singer-songwriter from Wildwood, FL- the New York Times lauds her "a sharp and surprising country singer". Aftermath addresses love, heartbreak, addiction, death, and resurrection.

Pick of the week

Everything Everything


The fifth full-length album from the supremely underrated Everything Everything, tackling the horror of global politics, existentalism and climate change. This subject matter, along with the harmonised falsetto vocals and deliberately looser production with bursts of madness, likens the record favourably to Hail To The Thief by Radiohead, the writers of the band's namesake. Darker and more intellectual than previous albums, but the band's strong sense of humour still shines through. Highlight - In Birdsong, a single out now.